Skip to content

HP Pavilion DV6000 WebCam Problems

June 3, 2009

My webcam stopped working after installing Vista SP1, I found this information in HP’s Site while helpful it did not solve my problem. I found out that my webcam was listed as a regular USB device in the Device manager, with the name Sonix WebCam. It wasn’t under the Imaging Devices section of the Device Manager, so the instructions provided by HP did not work.

As soon as I deleted the Sonix driver and performed a “Scan for Hardware Changes” Vista detected the web cam correctly and installed the right driver, and all is working now…

From → Applications

6 Comments
  1. The information about HP’s through the Site while helpful it did not solve my problem.I found out that my web cam was listed as a regular USB device in the Device manager, with the name Sonix Web Cam. It wasn’t under the Imaging Devices section of the Device Manager,so the instructions provided by HP did not work.

  2. Great site, I now have you bookmarked to come back again.

  3. moha permalink

    after install viest 32 bit and install cam driver i found in start menu only folder 4 cam when i open it only option unistall in it no cam in it i cant start it

  4. the_buccaneer permalink

    THANK YOU!!!!
    took me hours installing and uninstalling hp webcam drivers and acer drivers also as posted elsewhere on a hp dv2000. couldn’t work cause vista claimed to have this nice sonix driver installed properly. uninstalled and deleted it and voila: webcam recognised and working.
    too bad i didn’t find this earlier…

  5. yes, i cases like this it is better to locate the latest driver for the device or to upgrade your OS with the latest updates.
    some time you should delete your device and add it again with the new driver.

    Regards Dimi

  6. michelle permalink

    my hp built in webcam was not found on my system.i try to open my cam on yahoo it says http://www.cyberlink..but when i try to install you cam it says no wecam found….

Leave a Reply

